Overview and history:
Artist files are printed items that are ephemeral in nature or too small* or insubstantial (fewer than 16 pages) to be considered books. The description of qualifying materials is spelled out in the 520 note for the bibliographic record that was adopted by the The Artist Files Special Interest Group (SIG) in 2018. The Ryerson Library adopted these new guidelines as soon as they were presented.
It states:
Mixed collection of published and unpublished items that may include items such as announcements, articles, artist statements and manifestos, brochures, clippings, correspondence, digital media, exhibition catalogs and checklists, interviews, invitations, manuscripts, memorabilia, oral histories, posters, press releases, resumes/CVs, reviews, slides, and other similar material. These items are typically small in size and not individually cataloged.
Our library has always collected these sorts of materials. Originally they were arranged in four different categories: Individual Artist, Architecture, Art Activities and Commercial Galleries.
In the early 1990s these groups were combined to make up what we now know as the Artist Files, then known as the Pamphlet File, the designation is still reflected in the name of the space they are located in (the Pamphlet File room), and the format of the call number (P- #, the P standing for Pamphlet File) Some of the original architectural files have been incorporated into the Ryerson and Burnham Art and Architecture Archives, and the use of subject files, (e.g., concrete, wood, steel) was discontinued.
The Artist Files are not a browsing collection. The numbers that are assigned to the Artist Files, P-#####, are not in any particular order. The collection is searched by the name of the artist or organization in Primo, the correct P-# acquired and the file retrieved from the Pamphlet File room where it is shelved in numerical order.
Some of the files are quite old, late 1800s, and contain hidden treasures. Over the years many of these older items have been pulled for the Library’s Special Collections.
One of the best things about the files is that they provide information for artists that may not be represented in books. They may be newer artists that are yet to have a monograph printed about them, or overlooked artists that, in their time, were not appreciated. The collection is full of diverse and wonderful artists and organizations.
For more information on the history and background of the Artist Files, see:
‘Art Through the Pages’
https://www.jstor.org/stable/20205621
Arvio, Cheryl, and Thea Liberty Nichols. “Ephemeral and Essential: The Pamphlet Files in the Ryerson Library Collection.” Art Institute of Chicago Museum Studies 34, no. 2 (2008): 45–93. http://www.jstor.org/stable/20205621.
What we collect:
The Library collects all material related to artists and galleries worldwide, with a special focus on local and Midwestern artists and galleries. In the past, many smaller books were added to the Artist Files for expediency’s sake. This is no longer the case, and as we come across these smaller books and catalogs in the Artist Files, we pull them for full cataloging. The removal of these items from individual files has allowed space for the collection to grow.
The description of items that qualify as ephemera, shows the wide range of printed material and objects that can be found in our collection. It is not unusual to find small objects and large posters, stickers, pencils, pins, fake coins, bumper stickers, volvelles, plastic bags, kites, sponges, guitar picks, keys, cloth items, matchbooks, masks, lenticular cards, ashes, braille printing, sickness bags, candy wrappers and goodness knows what else. The Manager of the Artist Files has discretion to determine the value of any object or item for the collection.
Newspaper clippings should be housed in a mylar sleeve to protect other contents in the file from their acidic paper. Again, it will be up to the Manager of the Artist Files, discretion.
In general we do not collect monthly or yearly calendars or regular mailings announcing all events from galleries or museums.
Current practice when receiving an item is to place it in the file for that artist. If there are additional artists' works displayed, add the other names in 600 fields in the bibliographic record. If there are duplicates, the copies can be placed in the other artists’ files. (In that case you would not add their name to the original artist’s record). If there is more than one duplicate you can place the additional copy in the gallery or museum file. If an item has multiple artists, this should go into the file for the gallery, museum or organization.
In 2018 many files were transferred to the Ryerson & Burnham Archives. The bulk of these were files whose titles were addresses of buildings in Chicago. Other files were names and subjects already collected by the Archives. A list of these names and subjects can be found here. If you come across items from this list, pass them along to the Archives department. The most likely names that you will encounter are Irving Penn and Barbara Crane.
Sources of Ephemera:
Physical ephemera
The library receives donations from many curatorial staff members who receive ephemeral items in the mail from galleries, museums and artists and we appreciate (and encourage!) them to pass these along to the library.
Although galleries have largely discontinued sending out physical materials, some still create postcards, brochures, press releases, etc. to send to collectors, art critics and higher level museum staff. These items are also acquired by visiting large art shows, e.g. Expo and Sofa, and by visiting the galleries in person. The Manager of the Artist File should get on as many mailing lists for galleries as possible. This can be done by leaving cards at the larger shows and talking to gallery staff, who are almost always excited to know that the ephemera will be cataloged and archived. (All museum and library staff are encouraged to collect ephemera when attending a gallery exhibition or museum and donating the material to the Library.)
Digital ephemera
Current collection policy does not allow for digital ephemera and we do not typically print out digital material. Exceptions are sometimes made for a digital announcement or artist statement, if the director or curator deem it useful. Another reason for printing out digital material may be to confirm or clarify an identity of an artist or organization that would otherwise be unclear. This can happen with common names, where a birth date or middle name can not be found to differentiate.
Cataloging/Updating Bib Record:
New Artist Files
To create a new artist file use the template in Alma.
Open Metadata Editor:
The new template will look like this:
Fill out the following fields in this order:
099 field the Artist File number
$$a P- _______
To find out the last number used, use Browse Shelf Listing
245 field, the title of the Artist File
$$a _____ : $$k artist file.
Type in the artist/organization name
e.g., $$a Gwen Widmer : $$k artist file.
The title format is first name, last name. Note spaces on either side of the name.
The 245 field is at the cataloger’s discretion. The title of the Artist File does not have to match the authority record for that person. If the majority of the items have the name one way but the authority record is different, then it is helpful to use the name as it appears on the items for the title field. Below are some examples of when the 245 field does not match the authority record:
P-22019
245 0 0 $$a Lee Ufan : $$k artist file.
600 1 0 $$a Yi, U-hwan, $$d 1936- (LC authority record)
P-13389
245 0 0 $$a Sylvia Shaw Judson : $$k artist file.
600 1 0 $$a Haskins, Sylvia Shaw Judson, $$d 1897-1978. (LC authority record)
P-20610
245 0 0 $$a Elaine Sturtevant : $$k artist file.
600 0 0 $$a Sturtevant, $$d 1924-2014. (LC authority record)
P-36119
245 0 0 $$a Barbara T. Smith : $$k artist file.
600 1 0 $$a Smith, Barbara Turner, $$d 1931- (LC authority record)
300 field
$$a __ items.
Number of items in the file. The template uses the plural for items, when adding one item to a new file, change “items” to “item”.
600 field
600 1 0 $$a , $$d .
$$a Widmer, Gwen.
Use the LC authority record, if available. If one does not exist, make sure that the name as it appears here does not duplicate a different authority record that already exists for a different person or organization. I.e., If there is already a Widmer, Gwen that is not the artist represented in this file, add a middle initial, date of birth or other differentiating fact, or match to other uses in our catalog.
610 20 field
If an item is from a small local gallery that is not commonly known, it is helpful to add a 610 20 for the gallery. (example P-38337)
You can also add a link to the artist’s url using an 846 field (example P-38358) if that helps clarify information about the artist.
Status
Under Record Actions:
(this keeps the record from being uploaded to WorldCat)
Save the record
Pull down the Save menu and click Save Record or type Control + S
At this point if there is an LC authority record it will show small binoculars next to the 600 field.
In the example above, there was already an authority record for Gwen Widmer and it is for this photographer.
Please check all authority records to make sure they are correct. If not, use the F3 function key to search authority records.
At this point, if there are other records in Alma that have the same title, you will get a message:
Confirmation required
Matched record/s exist in the catalog,
Do you want to view them before saving?
Yes No
Always click “Yes” to make sure there isn’t already a file for this artist/gallery.
Check any records to make sure there is not a duplicate Artist File. Most of the hits should be books. The list of books will have subject heading information for all of the artists with that name. It is important that, where there isn’t an LC authority record available, that the Personal Name Subject Heading that you create does not conflict with subject headings already in Alma. The list of matched records has brief information which can be helpful but a more accurate method of checking is to use the ‘Browse by Subject’ option in Primo. This will give you all entries that are similar to the name you are searching for.
The Fixed Fields:
008 field:
The earliest date in the file, the language and the country it was published in.
Click on the 008 field and then hit Control F to open up the form.
When all is correct, add Holdings
Under ‘New’ menu
The first indicator should be ‘8’ for Artists’ Files. The location should be ‘p’ for Pamphlet Room.
Item record created after adding Holdings:
Control I
… 3 dots, pull down, Select ‘View Items’
Add Item
ADD BARCODE LAST
Start with
Updating Artist Files
Adding new items to an existing Artist File:
The Artist File Manager keeps a backlog of items that need to be added to existing files. This backlog is helpful because the library gets items donated for some artists and galleries more often than others. When adding items to an existing file, add all items currently on hand for that artist or gallery can be added at one time. The backlog is arranged alphabetically in folders on a cart in the Labeler’s room.
See below (8.4.6 Maintenance) for the things to check for when updating any Artist File.
Physical Processing:
Artist Files are housed in Tyvek envelopes. There are currently 3 sizes with archival boards cut to fit each size. (Boards are needed to stabilize thin or fragile items and are not used with all files)
Envelope size: Board size:
Medium or Standard 9 in. x 12 in. 8.5 in. x 11.5 in.
Large 10 in. x 13 in. 9 in. x 12 in.
Extra Large 11.5 in. x 14.5 in. 11 in. x 14 in.
Each envelope is stamped, in black ink, with the Pamphlet File (P-#) stamp, in the upper left hand corner.
Each envelope has the artist/organization name written with a thin, black Sharpie, in the upper right hand corner. This name is formatted as in the LC authority record for that artist/organization, if available. The barcode is placed directly beneath this name.
See section 8.4b for Oversize items that do not fit in the largest standard size of Tyvek envelopes (11.5 in.x 14.5 in.) The envelope markings may be different from a standard Artist File.
Larger envelopes require a board to stabilize the contents. Fragile or damaged items require a mylar sleeve for protection. Slides or photographs also require protection from mylar sleeves.
Grey Hollinger boxes can be used for files with too many items for an envelope.
See the image for correct markings and placement of the barcode. There are a few different sizes available.
Each item is stamped with the same Pamphlet File (P-#) stamp, in black ink, and the call number written in pencil.
Use a sticker for shiny or dark surfaces that cannot be written on.
Try not to cover up any important information with the stamp or the sticker.
For files with many items, organizing by size makes it faster to check for duplicates when adding new items.
Maintenance:
As a file crosses the Manager’s desk, check for the following:
There is a useful spreadsheet that can be updated as to dates of artist, type, whether the 008 is updated, oversize items, interesting items to be used for potential exhibits, artist questionnaires, particularly old items, local galleries, local schools, interesting notes, etc. The spreadsheet incorporates AIC holdings and lists like the Chicago Artist Archive (caa), Illinois Women Artists (iwa), Midwest Photographers Project (mpp), Chicago Photography Collective (cpc)that was located at Block 37, Midwestern Voices and Vision (Joyce Foundation) (mid v&v) and some books that have collections of local artists. I hope this spreadsheet will be useful for future Artist File Managers.
Items found in Artist File that qualify as books to be cataloged.
Before the digital age, cataloging was done by hand, writing out or typing bibliographical information into a form to be printed onto a card for the card catalog. It was a time-consuming process and applied to weighty scholarly tomes as well as short volumes of little substance. A decision was therefore made to put these less substantive books into the pamphlet file as a way to keep them in the collection yet not spend the great deal of time (and money) required to fully catalog them.
With the efficiencies of online cataloging, all books over 16 pages now receive full catalog records. A number of books over that limit still remain in the Artist's File. As these items come to light -- often as a file is being updated -- they are removed and should be routed to a Cataloger. Remember to update the 300 field in the bibliographic record to account for its removal.
Statistics:
Statistics are kept on a daily basis by the Artist File Manager. Separate numbers are kept for new Artist Files vs. updated ones. Each month these are tallied and the totals are uploaded to the Department spreadsheet (link here)
This document has a lot of images to illustrate the directions, clarify, and show a plethora of examples. Please note that you can see any of the images enlarged, "right click" on the image you want to see. This menu should pop up:
Select "Open image in new tab"
A new tab should open in your browser and when you click on it, the image should be enlarged to the full window.
Please let the Head of Coll. Services know if you have any problems getting this to work.
