Reading Room Access and Research Services for AIC Staff Fall 2021: Requesting Scans

How to Request Scans of Non-circulating Materials

• Sign in to the online catalog:

Click Sign In in the upper right corner of the screen.

Click AIC/SAIC login.

Enter the credentials you use to access your ARTIC email account.

• Search for the item you would like to request.
• Select the item from the search results and click to open the record.
• Click on the Scan Request link:

• Complete the scan request form.

What Happens Next?

Your responses will be forwarded to Library staff who will pull the item. If we have questions about your request, we will be in touch by email. Otherwise, we will scan the information that you requested and will send it to the email address you provided.

Turnaround Times

We will do our best to send you scans within a week of receiving your order. Requests submitted with detailed bibliographic information will be filled more quickly; you can request scans of Table of Contents information in order to place more specific scan requests. Please contact Library staff with questions.

Scanner Access

A book-safe, overhead scanner is available in the reading room for you to scan library materials during reading room hours. No appointment is necessary to scan materials that are on the hold shelf for you or that are on staff reserve in your name, but initial visits to view non-circulating materials require a research appointment.

Search the Ryerson & Burnham Libraries

Input a keyword into the box and click Search to begin searching the online library catalog.

Research Center Resources

Online catalogs and databases maintained by the Ryerson & Burnham Libraries and Art Institute of Chicago:

• Ryerson & Burnham Libraries Catalog
• A-Z List of Databases
• Ryerson & Burnham Archives Finding Aids

Make requests for materials that are not owned by the Ryerson & Burnham Libraries:

• Request an interlibrary loan
• Request a database trial
• Request a purchase for the library collections

Find library information:

• On the AIC intranet
• On the AIC website
• In past issues of Research News

Digital Resources from the Art Institute of Chicago

• Art Institute of Chicago Institutional Archives
• Museum Artworks Research Guide
• Museum Exhibition History: Search exhibitions by keyword or browse by date. Some records include photographs or digitized exhibition catalogs.
• Museum History Research Guide

• Ryerson & Burnham Art and Architecture Archives: Digital Collections
• Finding Aids: Finding aids are inventories or indices that describe the contents and context of an archival collection and are the primary method of accessing information about any given group of records.
• Images and Media: Catalog of electronic surrogates of selected original archival materials from the Ryerson & Burnham Archives collections. Materials may include photographs, slides, architectural drawings and prints, correspondence, and printed papers.
• Oral Histories: Browse over 250 artists and architect oral histories.

• Ryerson & Burnham Libraries Research Guides

A list of online guides and bibliographies developed by Ryerson & Burnham librarians to assist research on a variety of art historical and architectural topics, including provenance research, building history, appraisal and preservation resources, Chicago neighborhood research, and the history of the Art Institute of Chicago.

• Digital Publications

Digital collection catalogs available freely online. Catalogs offer detailed art historical context, provenance history, and scientific analysis of artworks in the Art Institute of Chicago's collections.