New policies and procedures are in place to provide access to the Ryerson & Burnham Libraries' collections this summer. This page provides information on how to request scans of items in the Libraries' collections. Visit the tabs above for information on our new reading room hours; to learn more about the access and services available to you in this stage of our reopening; to review our circulation policy; for instructions on how to request loans or scans of library materials; for instructions on how to request research appointments; to view our FAQs, and to learn more about access and services available in the Archives.
Please contact Library staff if you have any questions:
Aaron Rutt (x3-3936)
Autumn Mather (x3-3665)
Seth Vanek (x3-3667)
Click Sign In in the upper right corner of the screen.
Click AIC/SAIC login.
Enter the credentials you use to access your ARTIC email account.
Your responses will be forwarded to Library staff who will pull the item. If we have questions about your request, we will be in touch by email. Otherwise, we will scan the information that you requested and will send it to the email address you provided.
We will do our best to send you scans within a week of receiving your order. Requests submitted with detailed bibliographic information will be filled more quickly; you can request scans of Table of Contents information in order to place more specific scan requests. Please contact Library staff with questions.
A book-safe, overhead scanner is available in the reading room for you to scan library materials during reading room hours. No appointment is necessary to scan materials that are on the hold shelf for you or that are on staff reserve in your name, but initial visits to view non-circulating materials require a research appointment.
Input a keyword into the box and click Search to begin searching the online library catalog.
Online catalogs and databases maintained by the Ryerson & Burnham Libraries:
Make requests for materials that are not owned by the Ryerson & Burnham Libraries:
Find library information:
Search exhibitions by keyword or browse by date. Some records include photographs or digitized exhibition catalogs.
Catalog of electronic surrogates of selected original archival materials from the Ryerson & Burnham Archives collections. Materials may include photographs, slides, architectural drawings and prints, correspondence, and printed papers.
A list of online guides and bibliographies developed by Ryerson & Burnham librarians to assist research on a variety of art historical and architectural topics, including provenance research, building history, appraisal and preservation resources, Chicago neighborhood research, and the history of the Art Institute of Chicago.
Digital collection catalogs available freely online. Catalogs offer detailed art historical context, provenance history, and scientific analysis of artworks in the Art Institute of Chicago's collections.