Portal developed by Yale University Press that offers access to digital scholarly publications about art and architecture, including titles published jointly with the Art Institute of Chicago.
This extensive database offers citations, abstracts, and full-text coverage for over 780 publications on the subjects of art and art history, antiquities, archaeology, design, landscape architecture, architecture and architectural history, photography, printmaking, film, and other related subjects. Content includes the entirety of EBSCO's Art Full Text database.
Types of material covered: Journal articles and books.
Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full-text coverage to a wide range of international art journals, giving general coverage of most art topics and periods. In addition, it indexes reproductions of artwork that appear in indexed periodicals.
Types of material covered: Journal articles only.
Dates covered: Indexing coverage begins September 1984; abstracting coverage begins January 1994. Selected full-text coverage begins 1997.
A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts; includes the indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts), and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.
Types of material covered: Books, dissertations, exhibition catalogs, essays within collected works, and articles from current journals.
Dates covered: 1974 to present.
Via JSTOR, full-text of the 1907-1951 issues of the Bulletin of the Art Institute of Chicago. Links to the Art Institute of Chicago Quarterly, the Calendar of the Art Institute of Chicago, and later issues of the Bulletin. All of these are available in full text.
Types of material covered: Full-text journals
Dates covered: 1907-1982
The EBSCO Host platform allows you to search multiple databases at once, including Academic Search Complete, Anthropology Plus, Art and Architecture Source, Art Index Retrospective, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, Historical Abstracts, and many more.
Types of Material Covered: Multi-disciplinary journal articles, e-books, and newspaper content
Free content, available to anyone from anywhere, is on the Open Content site.
Types of material covered: Journal articles and e-book chapters.
Dates covered: Dates of coverage vary; the embargo for most journals is 3-5 years.
Technical tip: When emailing an article from JSTOR, first save it as a pdf on your desktop and then attach the pdf to your email.
Provides access to The Grove Dictionary of Art and The Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Comprehensive art encyclopedia that includes extensive artists' biographies. Contains over 200,000 articles and 15,000 images.
Types of material covered: Encyclopedic coverage of all aspects of fine and applied arts and architecture. Also included are biographies, images, and dictionary entries.
Technical tip: When emailing an article from Oxford Art Online, first save it as a PDF on your desktop and then attach the PDF to your email.
The ProQuest platform allows you to search multiple databases at once, including ArtBibliographies Modern; the Art, Architecture and Design Collection; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Chicago Tribune; New York Times; Vogue Archive; and many more.
Types of material covered: Multi-disciplinary journal articles, e-books, and newspaper content.
The union catalog for the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC), a major library consortial group, reflects the combined holdings of thousands of OCLC members and contains over 62 million bibliographic records
Types of material covered: Books, serials, archival collections, maps, computer files, recordings, scores, visual materials.
Dates covered: Before 1000 BC to the present.
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
This extensive database offers citations, abstracts, and full-text coverage for over 780 publications on the subjects of art and art history, antiquities, archaeology, design, landscape architecture, architecture and architectural history, photography, printmaking, film, and other related subjects. Content includes the entirety of EBSCO's Art Full Text database.
Types of material covered: Journal articles and books.
Thousands of unique and reliable full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography and Biography Today. This collection contains resources not included in Biography Reference Source.
Search the archives of the world's oldest continuously-published fashion magazine. Both the US and UK editions are available in this database, with issues scanned from cover to cover in full color, including all advertisements, illustrations, and photographs.
Types of material covered: Art, culture, design, fashion, and travel.
Dates Covered: 1867 to the present (US edition) 1930 to 2015 (UK edition).
Includes full-text historical reference books, primary source documents and biographies, plus selective content from more than 140 leading history journals.
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 includes every published issue, from the first in 1842 to the last in 2003. Entirely full-text searchable with high-quality digital imaging from flat unbound print sets.
Types of material covered: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: 1842-2003
This resource documents all the known unique works attributed to the artist through the artist’s archive, maintained by his studio and his estate, as well as supplemental research gathered posthumously. Edited by Jason Andrew for the Estate of Jack Tworkov and initially launched in 2009, this catalogue is regularly updated to accommodate the most accurate and up to date research of the life and work of the artist.
This resource is not included in catalog search results.
Citations and abstracts as well as some full text. Historically significant early Left publications such as the 19th century writings of William Godwin, along with classic texts by Marx, Lenin, Trotsky and Engels, are covered.
Provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, newspapers and videos, plus a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus.
Literary ebooks covering all genres and time periods including thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.
MasterFILE Complete offers the highest quality collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books, videos and other sources covering virtually every subject area.
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century and contains osver 60,000 biographies, 72 million words, 11,000 portraits of significant, influential or notorious figures who shaped British history.
Individual entries do not display in catalog results.
Hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.
Single platform for publications from 18 university presses including Cornell, Stanford, and Universities of Chicago, Illinois, Minnesota, New York and The British Academy. Covers titles published between 2018 and June 2021.
This resource is not included in catalog search results.
Indexing & abstracts covering journals in women’s studies and feminist research plus related disciplines, including sociology, history, international relations and humanities.
