FALL 2021 STAFF HOURS
The Research Center’s Franke reading room is a shared space in which researchers can consult the collections of the Ryerson and Burnham Libraries and the Art Institute of Chicago Archives. The reading room is open to staff to pick up circulating materials, work with the open shelf reference collection, consult items on staff reserve, work with reference librarians, use scanning equipment, and return materials during the following hours this fall:
Tuesdays: 10:00 a.m. until 1:00 p.m.
2:00 p.m. until 5:00 p.m.
Wednesdays: 10:00 a.m. until 1:00 p.m.
2:00 p.m. until 5:00 p.m.
Thursdays: 10:00 a.m. until 1:00 p.m.
2:00 p.m. until 5:00 p.m.
Fridays: 10:00 a.m. until 1:00 p.m.
2:00 p.m. until 5:00 p.m.
The reading room is closed on Mondays for staff to focus on stacks maintenance. Materials are not retrieved from the stacks on Mondays.
Library research appointments for museum staff are available on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 10:00 a.m. until 1:00 p.m. Library research appointments for the public are available Thursdays and Fridays from 2:00 p.m. until 5:00 p.m. Museum staff may also make appointments to view library materials during public research hours if space permits. Library appointments may be requested here: Make an Appointment
Archival research appointments for museum staff are available on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 2:00 p.m. until 5:00 p.m. Archival research appointments for the public are available Thursdays and Fridays from 10 a.m. until 1:00 p.m. Museum staff may make appointments to view archival materials during public research hours if space permits. More information is available here.
Input a keyword into the box and click Search to begin searching the online library catalog.
Online catalogs and databases maintained by the Ryerson & Burnham Libraries and the Art Institute of Chicago Archives:
Make requests for materials that are not owned by the Ryerson & Burnham Libraries:
Find library information:
A list of online guides and bibliographies developed by Ryerson & Burnham librarians to assist research on a variety of art historical and architectural topics, including provenance research, building history, appraisal and preservation resources, Chicago neighborhood research, and the history of the Art Institute of Chicago.
Digital collection catalogs available freely online. Catalogs offer detailed art historical context, provenance history, and scientific analysis of artworks in the Art Institute of Chicago's collections.
Ryerson & Burnham Libraries
readserv@artic.edu: for reference assistance, library orientation information, questions on interlibrary loan, and questions on library access and services. The following staff can also assist with these types of questions:
Aaron Rutt (x3-3936)
Autumn Mather (x3-3665)
Kevin Whiteneir (x3-3391)
circulation@artic.edu: for questions on circulation, offsite materials, bulk returns, and scanning requests. The following staff can also assist with these types of questions:
Seth Vanek (x3-3667)
The Art Institute of Chicago Archives
For information on our collections, the history of the Art Institute and the School of the Art Institute, donation proposals, corrections, comments, and general questions, please contact Archives staff at archives@artic.edu.