Museum staff may scan general collection library materials on the scanning equipment available in the reading room once the material has been reviewed by library staff to ensure that it is stable. A digital scanner is available for use in the reading room, as is a digital microform reader. There is also a scan-on-demand function in the online catalog.
A book-safe, overhead scanner is available in the reading room for you to scan library materials whenever the Franke Reading Room is open. No appointment is necessary to scan materials that are on the hold shelf for you or that are on staff reserve in your name, but please consult with library staff first if the book seems fragile or has a tight binding.
You are welcome to use your phone to photograph or scan materials in the library's special collections during your research appointment. If you prefer the settings on the overhead book scanner, library staff will make the scans for you. To request scans, please consult with the librarian on duty.
Online catalogs and databases maintained by the Ryerson & Burnham Libraries and Art Institute of Chicago:
Make requests for materials that are not owned by the Ryerson & Burnham Libraries:
Find library information:
Input a keyword into the box and click Search to begin searching the online library catalog.
A list of online guides and bibliographies developed by Ryerson & Burnham librarians to assist research on a variety of art historical and architectural topics, including provenance research, building history, appraisal and preservation resources, Chicago neighborhood research, and the history of the Art Institute of Chicago.
Digital collection catalogs available freely online. Catalogs offer detailed art historical context, provenance history, and scientific analysis of artworks in the Art Institute of Chicago's collections.
Ryerson & Burnham Libraries
reference@artic.edu: for reference assistance, library orientation information, questions on interlibrary loan, and questions on library access and services. The following staff can also assist with these types of questions:
Violet Jaffe (x3-3936)
Jenn Smith (x7-7103)
circulation@artic.edu: for questions on circulation, offsite materials, bulk returns, and scanning requests. The following staff can also assist with these types of questions:
Abby Adams (x3-3667)
The Art Institute of Chicago Archives
For information on our collections, the history of the Art Institute and the School of the Art Institute, donation proposals, corrections, comments, and general questions, please contact Archives staff at archives@artic.edu.