Skip to Main Content
art institute of chicago logo

Finding and Requesting Research Center Materials: Export Options

How to find and request research materials using the online catalog

Saving Searches, Setting Alerts, and Marking Favorites

Saving Queries and Placing Alerts:

  • Click on Save Query   to save a search.  
  • Click on the bell icon   to be notified when new materials on your topic arrive.
  • Click on the pushpin icon  in the results screen to save an item. 
  • Saved items can be emailed or printed individually or as a list.

Favorites:

Click the pushpin icon at the top of the screen to enter your favorites page. Here you can:

  • View saved searches
  • View search history
  • View, email, or print saved records

Emailing, Printing, and Saving Links

There are two ways to print or email records. To print or email individual records:

  • Click on the record on your search results page.
  • Scroll down to Send To.
  • Click on the printer icon  to print or click on the letter icon   to email.

To print or email batches of records:

  • Save a group of records by clicking the pushpin icon
  • Click on the number boxes to the left of the search results (or click on the box above the first search result) to select records:

  • Click on the ellipsis icon at the top of the results screen:

  • Click on the printer icon  to print or click on the letter icon  to email.

To save a link to a record:

  • Click on the record on your search results page.
  • Scroll down to Send To.
  • Click on the chain icon 
  • A link will appear beneath the icon. Click on the clipboard icon   reading "Copy the permalink to clipboard."

Ryerson & Burnham Libraries and Archives Search

Search the Ryerson & Burnham Libraries and Art and Architecture Archives

Input a keyword into the box and click Search to begin searching the online library catalog, including content from the Art and Architecture Finding Aids, Digital Collections, and Oral History databases.

Unfortunately, Institutional Archives resources (including the Imaging Archives) are not yet searchable here; please visit this page for more information.

Digital Collections from the Art Institute of Chicago

Digital Collections from the Art Institute of Chicago

Search exhibitions by keyword or browse by date. Some records include photographs or digitized exhibition catalogs.

Catalog of electronic surrogates of selected original archival materials from the Ryerson & Burnham Archives collections. Materials may include photographs, slides, architectural drawings and prints, correspondence, and printed papers.

A list of online guides and bibliographies developed by Ryerson & Burnham librarians to assist research on a variety of art historical and architectural topics, including provenance research, building history, appraisal and preservation resources, Chicago neighborhood research, and the history of the Art Institute of Chicago.

Digital collection catalogs available freely online. Catalogs offer detailed art historical context, provenance history, and scientific analysis of artworks in the Art Institute of Chicago's collections.

Contact Us

Ryerson & Burnham Libraries

For information on the museum collections, library collections, and library services, please contact Library staff at reference@artic.edu.

 

The Art Institute of Chicago Archives

For information on our collections, the history of the Art Institute and the School of the Art Institute, donation proposals, corrections, comments, and general questions, please contact Archives staff at archives@artic.edu.