Research Center Systems : E-Resources

EZProxy vs. OpenAthens i.e. what happens when you share collections with SAIC

Community Zone Updates Task List Maintenance

Report types to review: 

• Portfolio linking parameters update
• Electronic service linking parameters update
• Electronic service base URL updated
• Electronic Collection Linking Parameters Update
• Electronic Collection CDI search activation field updated
• Electronic Collection CDI full text linking field updated
• Electronic Collection CDI search rights field updated
• Electronic Collection CDI full text rights field updated

Electronic collection fields are updated rarely but if the change may affect linking or CDI, the collection should be checked to be sure CDI is activated as intended and portfolios can be spot checked to ensure linking still works. 

Other report types such as bibliographic record or coverage updates can be dismissed. We do not catalog electronic resources and coverage updates are too frequent and time consuming to check. Use your best judgement on report types to determine what is the best of use of time to review and check links. 

E-Resource Invoice Processing

• Start with spreadsheet for the current fiscal year tracking
• Locate the resource(s) and input the updated price (two columns, if it's split with SAIC make sure to invoice the total invoice cost and RBL's cost), invoice number, and invoice date
• Take the POL# and update the price in Alma then check the box in spreadsheet to indicate it's been updated
• Go to Alma Acquisitions > Create invoice > From PO > click three lines then select from dropdown to search by PO Line > select POL and create invoice. Add any additional POLs that are on the invoice on the Invoice Lines tab.
• Switch back to general tab and input invoice number and date. Make sure payment method is correct (account department vs credit card), update total invoice price if you added additional POLs.
• Click save and continue > make sure to assign the invoice to yourself from the Unassigned tab
• Download the invoice, name it as MMDDYYYY_Vendor_Invoice#_ResourceName
• Upload it to the folder "57371-00000-911 - Library Databases" under Invoices + Purchases Research Center
• Share the file with Jann-Nicole Trujillo, adding in any necessary information under the note. For example, if it's a shared resource with SAIC state this and place SAIC's account code to charge along with the $ amount they are responsible for.
• Copy the link to the invoice and paste it in the Link to Invoice column of the spreadsheet. 
• If Jann processed the payment, periodically check Reporting Services and add in the date the payment was processed to the spreadsheet and the invoice in Alma. If you used a credit card,  you can input the date in the spreadsheet.