We are pleased to offer class visits on Mondays, Thursdays, and Fridays between 10:00 a.m. and noon.
The Research Center can accommodate one class visit session per day on Mondays, Thursdays, and Fridays; one-hour sessions may be scheduled between 10:00 a.m. and noon.
At least five students must be scheduled to attend the class visit in order for the request to be approved. If you anticipate more than 20 guests, we may reach out to arrange alternate options for students to view materials.
Class visits must be requested at least two weeks in advance.
Class visits may be faculty-led instruction sessions or basic orientations led by Research Center staff, as outlined below:
Option 1: Guided exploration of a thematic area (led by faculty)
Participants will learn how to use Library and Archives collections and research tools in order to inform original scholarship or inspire their art practice.
Faculty are responsible for selecting, planning and facilitating all content. Faculty may select Archives and/or Library materials. Research Center staff will set up materials and monitor handling; faculty are responsible for facilitating student engagement.
Option 2: Basic orientation (led by Research Center staff)
Participants will learn the fundamentals of the collection, and how to make an appointment and request library or archives materials in order to visit the reading room and interact with materials.
Research Center staff will select and facilitate content. Only Library materials may be selected. Faculty are expected to participate and encourage student engagement.
Instructors may request up to 10 items (Libraries) or 10 containers (Archives) to present to their classes during the visit.
Instructors may browse materials for their class via our online catalog. Please communicate item requests to Research Center staff via email at least one week prior to the visit. This time is needed to vet fragile materials and process retrieval of any materials stored offsite. If requests are not received one week prior to the visit date, a reference librarian will select no more than 5 items relevant to the class topic. Information on searching the catalog is available here.
It is strongly recommended that instructors make a research appointment to review and flag sections of their requested materials in order to plan the class engagement prior to the group session.
Instructors must be present and engaged during the entirety of the class visit. Research Center staff will set up collection materials, monitor handling, and provide bibliographies.
Complete the instruction form to schedule your class visit.